The 2016 EJ Craigie Writing Award was presented at the 125th Annual Henry George Commemorate Dinner to Philip Soos for his excellent article Australia’s Real Lifters and Leaners published by Independent Australia on June 2.

While the award is for a single piece of work, the Prosper Australia executive noted Philip’s considerable output and consistent and unselfish involvement in the civic debate on land, taxation and debt.

The EJ Craigie Writing Award honors a leading figure in the Australian Georgist movement, EJ ‘Jack’ Craigie MLA, an independent member of the South Australian parliament 1930-41 and a Site Value Rating stalwart. Learn more about Jack Craigie here.

The Award aims to encourage writers to creative excellence, which Philip certainly demonstrated. We look forward to his future output with considerable interest.